Some days

Some days all I need apparently is a quick chat with my amazing best friend and a hot bowl of home made soup and some of my giant walls crash down. My best friend is a dizzying 3000 miles away. So mostly we talk by text, but honestly it is still like having her here with me sometimes. We don’t have to talk about anything special or epic, and even just in texts I can hear her voice, being friends for 15 years will do that I suppose. We can chat about TV or some inane thing that wouldn’t matter to anyone but the two of us, and it still can lift weights off me that I don’t even notice until they are gone. She even lets me flirt with her husband and doesn’t get mad! Honestly I don’t know how the poor man puts up with us sometimes when we are actually all together. I would feel bad, but he married into this friendship!

We are ridiculous
We are ridiculous

Talking to her plus eating a giant bowl of amazing homemade Santa Fe chipotle chicken soup made me feel more like myself today! Some days I wonder why it seems so hard to take a deep breath, I just need to remember that self-care can be as simple as a text message and some delicious food.  I may have a seriously annoying summer cold, but the soup made me feel human, and my bestie made me feel like a rock star. I managed to get dressed and clean some of my apartment. I actually accomplished things! Then my jerk cat went on a fall hairball pukin’ rally and I had to clean up after him and give him some hairball medicine. He’s lucky he is so cute.

The handsome boy "helping" me make the bed
The handsome boy “helping” me make the bed
He knows he's cute
He knows he’s cute

He may have thrown a wrench in my momentum, but this was a day I had counted out already and I put on my adulting pants and did some things. I may even work on my journal some today. Take that world.

Leave a Reply

